WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT STATE LAWS ON MEDICAL MARIJUANA
As of 2017, 29 states in the United States (U.S.) and the District of Columbia (D.C.) have passed laws legalizing the use of medical marijuana. These laws vary in scope and limitation. For example, some laws allow only terminally ill clients to possess the drug.
The earliest law allowing possession of medical marijuana was passed in the state of California in 1996.
Except for the states of California, Maine, and Washington, other states have legalized marijuana usage. Marijuana possessions must present registration as a mandatory step. The registry fee to acquire a medical cannabis ID ranges from $25 (Alaska and the District of Columbia) to $200 (Illinois, Minnesota, New Jersey, and Oregon).
There are requirements in the process of registration for a medical marijuana ID card, such as proof of residency. However, some states will allow the usage of ID cards from another state.
The least amount allowed for usable marijuana is 1 ounce, which is the limit in the state of Montana, along with at least 12 seedlings and 4 mature flowering plants.
The most allowed are 24 ounces of usable cannabis, which is the limit in the state of Oregon, along with up to 6 mature plants.
States that have passed medical marijuana laws
Below you can find a comprehensive list of the 29 states and their possession limits:
|STATE||POSSESSION LIMIT||YEAR PASSED|
|1||California||8 oz usable; 6 mature or 12 immature plants||1996|
|2||Alaska||1 oz usable; 6 plants (3 mature, 3 immature)||1998|
|3||Oregon||24 oz usable; 24 plants (6 mature, 18 immature)||1998|
|4||Washington||8 oz usable; 6 plants||1998|
|5||Maine||2.5 oz usable; 6 plants||1999|
|6||Colorado||2 oz usable; 6 plants (3 mature, 3 immature)||2000|
|7||Hawaii||4 oz usable; 7 plants||2000|
|8||Nevada||2.5 oz usable; 12 plants||2000|
|9||Montana||1 oz usable; 4 plants (mature); 12 seedlings||2004|
|10||Vermont||2 oz usable; 9 plants (2 mature, 7 immature)||2004|
|11||Rhode Island||2.5 oz usable; 12 plants||2006|
|12||New Mexico||6 oz usable; 16 plants (4 mature, 12 immature)||2007|
|13||Michigan||2.5 oz usable; 12 plants||2008|
|14||Arizona||2.5 oz usable; 12 plants||2010|
|District of Columbia||2 oz dried||2010|
|15||New Jersey||2 oz usable||2010|
|16||Delaware||6 oz usable||2011|
|17||Connecticut||2.5 oz usable||2012|
|18||Massachusetts||60-day supply for personal medical use (10 oz)||2012|
|19||Illinois||2.5 ounces of usable cannabis during a period of 14 days||2013|
|20||New Hampshire||2 oz of usable cannabis during a 10-day period||2013|
|21||Maryland||30-day supply, amount to be determined||2014|
|22||Minnesota||30-day supply of non-smokable marijuana||2014|
|23||New York||30-day supply non-smokable marijuana||2014|
|24||Arkansas||3 oz usable per 14-day period||2016|
|25||Florida||Amount to be determined||2016|
|26||North Dakota||3 oz per 14-day period||2016|
|27||Ohio||Maximum of a 90-day supply, amount to be determined||2016|
|29||West Virginia||30-day supply (amount TBD)||2017|
As mentioned in the table, Florida passed their law on medical marijuana last 2016. Medical Cannabis Evaluations in Florida are offered in Bernard Cannabis Center.
For a Medical Cannabis Recommendation, contact our facility at 1-866-7DR-WEED (1-866-737-9333).
Leave a Reply